Preprints submitted for peer review:


  • C. Wolff, K. Busch, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Modal expansions in periodic photonic systems with material loss and dispersion"



  • J.R. Maack, N.A. Mortensen, and M. Wubs,

"Two-fluid hydrodynamic model for semiconductors",



Papers accepted for publication:


  • A.J. Chaves, B. Amorim, Y.V. Bludov, P.A.D. Gonçalves, and N.M.R. Peres,

"Scattering of grapheme plasmons at abrupt interfaces: an analytic and numeric study",

Phys. Rev. B 97, in press (2018) [ arXiv:1711.02237 ]


  • M.S. Carstensen, X. Zhu, O.E. Iyore, N.A. Mortensen, U. Levy, and A. Kristensen,

"Holographic Resonant Laser Printing of metasurfaces using plasmonic template",

ACS Photonics 5, in press (2018)


  • S. Boroviks, R.A. Deshpande, N.A. Mortensen, and S.I. Bozhevolnyi,

"Multifunctional meta-mirror: polarization splitting and focusing",

ACS Photonics 5, in press (2018)


  • X. Zhu, M.K. Hedayati, S. Raza, U. Levy, N.A. Mortensen, and A. Kristensen,

"Digital resonant laser printing: Bridging nanophotonic science and consumer products",

Nano Today 18, in press (2018)




  • C. Tserkezis, M. Wubs, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Robustness of the Rabi splitting under nonlocal corrections in plexcitonics",

ACS Photonics 5, 133 (2018)


  • P.A.D. Gonçalves, L.P. Bertelsen, S. Xiao, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Plasmon-exciton polaritons in 2D semiconductor/metal interfaces",

Phys. Rev. B 97, 041402(R) (2018)




  • P.A.D. Gonçalves, S. Xiao, N. M. R. Peres, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Hybridized Plasmons in 2D Nano-slits: From Graphene to Anisotropic 2D Materials",

ACS Photonics 4, 3045 (2017)


  • M.K. Dezfouli, C. Tserkezis, N.A. Mortensen, and S. Hughes,

"Nonlocal quasinormal modes for arbitrarily shaped three-dimensional plasmonic resonators",

Optica 4, 1503 (2017)


  • A.J. Chaves, N.M.R. Peres, G. Smirnov, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Hydrodynamic model approach to the formation of plasmonic wakes in graphene",

Phys. Rev. B 96, 195438 (2017)


  • M. Settnes, J.R.M. Saavedra, K.S. Thygesen, A.-P. Jauho, F.J. García de Abajo, and N.A. Mortensen,

"Strong plasmon-phonon splitting and hybridization in 2D materials revealed through a self-energy approach",

ACS Photonics 4, 2908 (2017)


  • B. Amorim, P.A.D. Gonçalves, M.I. Vasilevskiy, N.M.R. Peres,

"Impact of graphene on the polarizability of a neighbour nanoparticle: a dyadic Green's function study",

Appl. Sci. 7, 1158 (2017)


  • Y. Ding, X. Guan, X. Zhu, H. Hu, S.I. Bozhevolnyi, L.K. Oxenlowe, K.J. Jin, N.A. Mortensen, and S. Xiao,

"Effective electro-optic modulation in low-loss graphene-plasmonic slot waveguides",

Nanoscale 9, 15576 (2017)


  • J.R. Maack, N.A. Mortensen, and M. Wubs,

"Size-dependent nonlocal effects in plasmonic semiconductor particles",

EPL 119, 17003 (2017)


  • C. Frydendahl, T. Repan, M. Geisler, S.M. Novikov, J. Beermann, A. Lavrinenko, S. Xiao, S.I. Bozhevolnyi, N.A. Mortensen, and N. Stenger,

"Optical reconfiguration and polarization control in semi-continuous gold films close to the percolation threshold",

Nanoscale 9, 12014 (2017)


  • M.N. Gjerding, R. Petersen, T.G. Pedersen, N.A. Mortensen, and K.S. Thygesen,

"Layered van der Waals crystals with hyperbolic light dispersion",

Nature Communications 8, 320 (2017)


  • C. Tserkezis, N.A. Mortensen, and M. Wubs,

"How nonlocal damping reduces plasmon-enhanced fluorescence in ultranarrow gaps",

Phys. Rev. B 96, 085413 (2017)


  • C. Tserkezis,

"SPECIAL ISSUE — Quantum Plasmonics",

Int. J. Mod. Phys. B 31, 1702004 (2017)


  • C. Tserkezis, W. Yan, W. Hsiehg, G. Sun, J.B. Khurgin, M. Wubs, and N.A. Mortensen,

"On the origin of nonlocal damping in plasmonic monomers and dimers",

Int. J. Mod. Phys. B 31, 1740005 (2017)


  • P.A.D. Gonçalves, S.I. Bozhevolnyi, N.A. Mortensen, and N.M.R. Peres,

"Universal description of channel plasmons in 2D materials",

Optica 4, 601 (2017)


  • S.I. Bozhevolnyi and N.A. Mortensen,

"Plasmonics for emerging quantum technologies",

Nanophotonics 6, 1185 (2017)

VILLUM Investigator program on Quantum Plasmonics


Dr. techn. N. Asger Mortensen

Professor & VILLUM Investigator

D-IAS Chair of Technical Science

Fellow of APS, OSA & SPIE